Eastern League 2013 Field Staffs

Eastern Division

Trenton ThunderTrenton Thunder (2012: 79-63)
Mgr: Tony Franklin
PC: Tommy Phelps
HC: Justin Turner
C: Luis Dorante

Reading Baseball ClubReading Baseball Club (2012: 76-66)
Mgr: Dusty Wathan
PC: Frank Cacciatore
HC: Dave Lundquist


New Britain Rock CatsNew Britain Rock Cats (2012: 75-67)
Mgr: Jeff Smith
PC: Stu Cliburn
HC: Chad Allen

Portland Sea Dogs
Portland Sea Dogs
(2012: 68-73)
Mgr: Kevin Boles
PC: Bob Kipper
HC: Rich Gedman


Binghamton Mets

Binghamton Mets (2012: 68-74)
Mgr: Pedro Lopez
PC: Glenn Abbott
HC: Luis Natera


New Hampshire Fisher CatsNew Hampshire Fisher Cats (2012: 61-81)
Mgr: Gary Allenson
PC: Tom Signore
HC: Richie Hebner

Western Division

Akron AerosAkron Aeros (2012: 82-59)
Mgr: Edwin Rodriguez
PC: Greg Hibbard
HC: Jim Rickon

Bowie Baysox
Bowie Baysox
(2012: 78-64)
Mgr: Gary Kendall
PC: Blaine Beatty
HC: Einar Diaz

Altoona Curve
Altoona Curve
(2012: 72-70)
Mgr: Carlos Garcia
PC: Stan Kyles
HC: Ryan Long

Richmond Flying Squirrels
Richmond Flying Squirrels
(2012: 70-71)
Mgr: Dave Machemer
PC: Ross Grimsley
HC: Ken Joyce

Harrisburg Senators
Harrisburg Senators
(2012: 64-78)
Mgr: Matt LeCroy
PC: Paul Menhart
HC: Eric Fox

Erie SeaWolves
Erie SeaWolves
(2012: 57-84)
Mgr: Chris Cron
PC: Jaime Garcia
HC: Gerald Perry


Around the Horn

Nine of the 12 teams return their manager from last season. Edwin Rodgriguez (Akron), Carlos Garcia (Altoona), and Gary Allenson (New Hampshire) are the three new Eastern League skippers.

Only three clubs (Binghamton, Harrisburg, and Richmond) retained their entire field staff from 2012.

Tony Franklin is the longest tenured manager in the EL as 2013 will mark his seventh straight season with the Thunder.

Harrisburg is the only team where the entire staff has played in the major leagues with Matt LeCroy logging 476 games, Paul Menhart appearing in 41, and Eric Fox for 116 games.

Gary Kendall remains the only EL manager with no MiLB playing experience as he came up through the ranks of coaching college and scouting.

Six managers (Allenson, Franklin, Garcia, LeCroy, Smith, and Wathan) also played in the Eastern League. Wathan played for four separate EL teams in his career that included New Haven (1999), Portland (2001), Akron (2003), and Reading (2007).

Rodriguez became the first Puerto Rican-born major league manager when he took over the Florida Marlins during the 2010 season after Fredi Gonzalez was fired.

In the Eastern Division, Allenson is the only manager that has a career losing record (984-1055) and in the Western Division, Machemer is the only manager with a career winning record (1534-1517).

Franklin is the circuit’s oldest manager (62) and LeCroy is the youngest (37).

This entry was posted in EL Roundtripper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s